Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



Tour de France: Team Sky Dominates Day One!

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Geraint Thomas will wear the leader’s yellow jersey at the Tour de France on Sunday after taking a surprise victory on Saturday’s opening stage in Dusseldorf.

AFP/James Startt

Chris Froome struck an early blow on his Tour de France rivals as his Sky team-mate Geraint Thomas won the
opening stage in Dusseldorf on Saturday.

 It was a great day for Britain and Sky, as Thomas will wear the coveted leader’s yellow jersey for the first time on Sunday.

“I didn’t really expect it, I didn’t know what to expect,” said Thomas. “To win a stage is incredible and to get the yellow jersey on top is an
amazing cherry.”

Reigning champion Froome put more than 30 seconds of time into his main rivals for overall victory as he tamed the tricky course and conditions better than they did.

For Sky it was a great success with four riders in the top seven as 2015 world time-trial champion Vasil Kiryienka took third and 2014 world road race champion Michal Kwiatkowski was seventh, one place behind Froome.

Swiss time-trial champion Stefan Kung was the closest to Thomas, finishing second at just five seconds off the winning time of 16min 04sec. Even four-time world champion Tony Martin, the German who had dreamt of winning the opening stage in his home country, could not deny Thomas as he managed only fourth, despite leading at the only time check after 8.1km. 

But while Froome, Sky and Britain celebrated, is was a bad day for Colombian Nairo Quintana and his Movistar team as his chief domestique Alejandro Valverde crashed out of the race.

Spanish veteran Valverde, who was third overall two years ago, crashed hard on a slippery bend in miserable wet conditions and was visibly in great pain. The 37-year-old seemed to jar his left leg when he touched his foot down as he lost his back wheel, before skidding hard into the metal crash barriers.

It was immediately clear he wouldn’t be able to continue but his team frantically tried to move him as he was stranded on the apex of a tricky bend, with many other riders set to come around it having set off at one minute intervals.

“Unfortunately @alejanvalverde cannot continue in the race. What sadness to finish a Tour on the first day,” said Movistar on Twitter.

Not only will Quintana be without one of his key lieutenants in the mountains, but he lost 36 seconds to Froome.

That was par for Froome’s main rivals with Australian Richie Porte losing 35 seconds, Frenchman Romain Bardet 39sec back and two-time former winner Alberto Contador giving up 42sec.

 – ‘I was nervous’ –

Porte had beaten Froome in a time-trial at last month’s main warm-up event the Criterium du Dauphine, but he said he had felt uneasy in the wet.    “I was cautious. It was slippery. It wasn’t the best time-trial for me,” he said.

“I was nervous. It was better to take no risks.”

Froome said his own strong showing was no surprise. “I’d done a lot of time-trial training over the last few weeks since the
Dauphine. It wasn’t lucky that I did a good time-trial,” he said.

Want to watch the entire Tour live! Get NBCSN with and PELOTON for just $19.99 in July and August! 7 Days free, the biggest races in the world, plus 50 other channels!

Stage One Results:

   1. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 14.0 km in 16min 04sec (average: 52,3 km/h)
   2. Stefan Kung (SWI/BMC) at 0:05.
   3. Vasil Kiryienka (BLR/SKY) 0:07.
   4. Tony Martin (GER/KAT) 0:08.
   5. Matteo Trentin (ITA/QST) 0:10.
   6. Christopher Froome (GBR/SKY) 0:12.
   7. Jos van Emden (NED/LNL) 0:15.
   8. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/SKY) 0:15.
   9. Marcel Kittel (GER/QST) 0:16.
   10. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/DDT) 0:16.
   11. Nikias Arndt (GER/SUN) 0:16.
   12. Taylor Phinney (USA/CAN) 0:17.
   13. Andriy Grivko (UKR/AST) 0:17.
   14. Daryl Impey (RSA/ORI) 0:19.
   15. Jonathan Castroviejo (ESP/MOV) 0:20.
   16. Michael Matthews (AUS/SUN) 0:20.
   17. Pierre-Roger Latour (FRA/ALM) 0:25.
   18. Peter Sagan (SVK/BOR) 0:25.
   19. Audrey Amador (CRC/MOV) 0:27.
   20. Alexey Lutsenko (KAZ/AST) 0:29.
   21. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/QST) 0:30.
   22. Robert Gesink (NED/LNL) 0:31.
   23. Sonny Colbrelli (ITA/BAH) 0:32.
   24. Tim Wellens (BEL/LOT) 0:32.
   25. Maciej Bodnar (POL/BOR) 0:33.